Mutoko Rural District Council

Mutoko Rural District Council

Mutoko Rural District Council+263 771 592 888

Mutoko Rural District Council

Mutoko Rural District Council

Mutoko Rural District Council

Mutoko Rural District Council

Business & Investment

Who We Are

Mutoko Rural District Council is a progressive and successful service provider , committed to further improve the quality of the community's standard of living. The Council strives to achieve the best outcome for its community through active facilitation of social, environmental, economic, and planning initiatives in the district.

We create a work environment that promotes emergency respond , respect ,responsibility , and value for all our employees, clients, customers and other stakeholders. Every customers has a shared responsibility toward improving the quality of services.


To create a world class Council with socially and economically empowered communities and to become the best democratic and development focused local authority in Zimbabwe.


To provide quality services that promote sustainable development and also to promote good governance and gender equality.

Core Values

  • INTEGRITY:- Adhering to moral principle of honesty, truthfulness and fairness. Zero tolerance to corruption
  • TEAM WORK:- Unity of purpose
  • TRANSPARENCY:- Promoting openness in our operations
  • ACCOUNTABILITY:- Taking responsibility for our actions


Mutoko was awarded as an administrative district in 1902,Prior to 1994; Mutoko had three councils namely Budya Council (small scale farming areas), Mutoko District Council (communal areas) and Mutoko South Council (commercial farming areas). In 1995 it was then amalgamated into one rural district council which is now Mutoko Rural District Council through the Rural District Councils Act 29:13 of Zimbabwe.

The development of the so called 'Native Reserves' was given a very low priority since the settlers appeared in the then Rhodesia in the 1890s up to the late 1930s by Central Government. Decision making was largely in the hands of the then District Commissioner who had the position of President of all councils in his district deputized by the Chiefs.

The Native Council Act of 1937 was the creation of the native councils to deal with affairs of blacks. In 1980, immediately after Independence, African Councils were abolished 55 District Councils were established in their place. The dualistic nature of local government in rural areas continued until 1995 when District Councils and Rural Councils were amalgamated to form 58 Rural District Councils. There are currently 59 Rural District Councils including Mutoko Rural District Council.


Mutoko Rural District Council is a non-profit making local authority organization which operates under the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing. It aims at providing efficient and effective service delivery to its citizens.

The Council is headed by the Chief Executive Officer Mr. P. Sigauke. There are five departments namely, Finance, Community Services and Administration Audit, and Works, Housing and Planning. Each department has its core values, functions, missions and visions and when it is consolidated it forms the Council's mission statement. Mutoko is divided into 29 wards with the councillors (heads of wards) are elected through the Rural District Councils Act 29.13. There are 20 communal wards,5 resettlement wards and 4 small scale farming wards.


Mutoko Rural District Council administers a rural district located 143km north east of the capital Harare along the Nyamapanda Highway that spans over 428,916 hectares or 4,740 square Km. Mutoko Rural District Council is at Mutoko District Centre, about two kilometres off the Harare - Nyamapanda highway, heading southwards.



Head of Department – Mr. T. Mushango

Committee Members

Councillor K. Dende – Chairperson

Councillor R.Mabvuta - Member

Councillor J. Bema - Member

Councillor M. K. Majinga - Member

Councillor L. Katehwe - Member

Mayor C. Karimazondo - Ex Officio


  • Managing all Council assets.
  • Producing monthly and annual financial statements.
  • Institution of control mechanisms that monitor revenue collection.
  • Budget formulation and monitoring.
  • Monitoring the performance of Council budget.
  • Management of Council Funds.
  • Supervision of all Council security systems
  • Safe keeping of Council Inventory


Head of Department – Mr. Z. NHIDZA

Committee Members

Councillor I. Jakarasi – Chairperson

Councillor M. Musakwa - Member

Councillor R. Gutu - Member

G Nyanguwo - Member

Chiziwe - Member

Mayor C. Karimazondo - Ex Officio


  • Giving advice on statutory issues that are related to the Management of resources and their exploitation.
  • Conflict Resolution on cases related to Land and Boundary arguments.
  • Land use monitoring and evaluation.
  • Environment Management and Agriculture budget formulation and monitoring.
  • Protecting and improving the environment in the Council’s area of jurisdiction.
  • Development Control


Head of Department – Mr. Z. NHIDZA

Committee Members

Councillor S. Chipuriro - Chairperson

Councillor K. I. Rutsito - Member

Councillor A. Nyakarize - Member

Councillor G. Machipisa -Member

Mayor C. Karimazondo - Ex Officio


  • Procurement and Asset management.
  • Performance management.
  • Public Relations.
  • Secretarial services to the Council
  • Budget formulation and management
  • Information and Communication Technology management
  • Transport Management


Head of Department – Mr. Z. NHIDZA

Committee Members

Councillor R. Magura - Chairperson

Councillor J. Masango - Member

Councillor V. Jumbe - Member

Councillor P. Gwati -Member

Councillor S. Nyanhanga - Member

Mayor C. Karimazondo - Ex Officio


  • Budget formulation, monitoring and evaluation.
  • Monitoring the work of all Development partners.
  • Monitoring all Council schools and Rural Health Centers.
  • Gender Main streaming.


Head of Department – Mr. S. Zulu

Committee Members

Councillor T. Kachidza - Chairperson

Councillor G. Matimura - Member

Councillor T. Mahara - Member

Councillor S. Nyatsine -Member

Mayor C. Karimazondo - Ex Officio


  • Risk management
  • Formulating systems control mechanisms.
  • Liaising with external Auditors over Audit fees.
  • Monitoring financial statements.


Head of Department – Eng. R. Makore

Committee Members

Councillor B. Karimatsenga - Chairperson

Councillor M. Jena - Member

Councillor T. Jinjika - Member

Councillor C. Chikukwa -Member

Councillor C. Shambare - Member

Councillor R. Jembere -Member

Mayor C. Karimazondo - Ex Officio


  • Construction and Servicing of roads
  • Servicing of stands (Residential and Commercial)
  • Waste management
  • Planning and projects management
  • Buildings inspection
  • Budget formulation, monitoring and evaluation