Who We Are

The Mutoko communal lands are characterized by rough terrain that includes mountains, streams and rivers. Most of these rivers have small dams constructed by the local authority to enable villagers to access water through-out the year. The farmers use the water from these streams and rivers to irk a living from market gardening. Tomatoes are the major horticultural crop grown by almost every household while other crops like butternut, carrot, onion, leafy vegetables, cucumber, okra, gem squash and garlic are grown to a lesser extend.

The area is well known for its holy mountain. RISING majestically (over 1200metres) from broad-based stoney boulders on the outskirts of Mutemwa Leprosy Centre, Chigona Mountain in Mutoko remains a sacred place of worship for Christians in the country, with a rich history of mysterious happenings, miracles, exhilarating spiritual experiences and a “martyr”, who is closely linked to its “power.”

Located 143km north east of the capital Harare, along the Nyamapanda highway and it spans over 428,916 hectares. We host National Monument No.:61, Mutoko (or Tere) Monument. The Local Budya people believe the ruins were built and occupied in the 1600’s by Makate, a man with powerful charm who used magic to subdue his rivals.Mutoko is surrounded by the following districts; Mudzi (North East), Nyanga (South East) Murehwa (South West) Uzumba-Maramba-Pfungwe (North West). Mutoko is accessible by a transnational highway leading to Mozambique and Malawi which is highly subscribed by cargo, passenger and courier transport.

The district is well endowed with the black and white granite mineral resource which is currently being exploited across the district. All operations being carried out are for export purposes mainly outside the country, with no value-adding activities being carried out in the district.

Mutoko Rural District Council is a progressive and successful service provider , committed to further improve the quality of the community's standard of living. The Council strives to achieve the best outcome for its community through active facilitation of social, environmental, economic, and planning initiatives in the district.

We create a work environment that promotes emergency respond , respect ,responsibility , and value for all our employees, clients, customers and other stakeholders. Every customer has a shared responsibility toward improving the quality of services.


Mutoko was awarded as an administrative district in 1902,Prior to 1994; Mutoko had three councils namely Budya Council (small scale farming areas), Mutoko District Council (communal areas) and Mutoko South Council (commercial farming areas). In 1995 it was then amalgamated into one rural district council which is now Mutoko Rural District Council through the Rural District Councils Act 29:13 of Zimbabwe.

The development of the so called 'Native Reserves' was given a very low priority since the settlers appeared in the then Rhodesia in the 1890s up to the late 1930s by Central Government. Decision making was largely in the hands of the then District Commissioner who had the position of President of all councils in his district deputized by the Chiefs.

The Native Council Act of 1937 was the creation of the native councils to deal with affairs of blacks. In 1980, immediately after Independence, African Councils were abolished 55 District Councils were established in their place. The dualistic nature of local government in rural areas continued until 1995 when District Councils and Rural Councils were amalgamated to form 58 Rural District Councils. There are currently 59 Rural District Councils including Mutoko Rural District Council.


Mutoko Rural District Council is a non-profit making local authority organization which operates under the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing. It aims at providing efficient and effective service delivery to its citizens.

There are six departments namely, Finance, Social Services, Audit, Human Resources, Works & Roads and Housing. Each department has its core values, functions, missions and visions and when it is consolidated it forms the Council's mission statement. Mutoko is divided into 29 wards with the councillors (heads of wards) are elected through the Rural District Councils Act 29.13. There are 20 communal wards,5 resettlement wards and 4 small scale farming wards.




Mr. P. Sigauke


Works & Roads

Mr. R. Makore


Human Resources



Internal Audit

Mr.S. Zulu


Social Services

Mr. Z. Nhidza

Go To Top




  • Managing all Council assets.
  • Producing monthly and annual financial statements.
  • Institution of control mechanisms that monitor revenue collection.
  • Budget formulation and monitoring.
  • Management of Council Funds.
  • Supervision of all Council security systems
  • Safe keeping of Council Inventory



  • Procurement and Asset management.
  • Recruitment.
  • Reward management.
  • Compensation.
  • Training and Development.
  • HR planning.
  • Talent management.
  • Performance management.
  • Public Relations.
  • Secretarial services to the Council
  • Budget formulation and management
  • Information and Communication Technology management
  • Transport Management
  • Management of Labour Relations
  • Health and Safety management
  • Administration of Council committee meetings
  • Management and safe keeping of Council records
  • Management of employees and councillors’ welfare



  • Budget formulation, monitoring and evaluation.
  • Monitoring the work of all Development partners.
  • Monitoring all Council schools and Rural Health Centers.
  • Gender Main streaming.



  • Risk management
  • Formulating systems control mechanisms.
  • Liaising with external Auditors over Audit fees.
  • Monitoring financial statements.



  • Construction and Servicing of roads
  • Servicing of stands (Residential and Commercial)
  • Waste management
  • Planning and projects management
  • Buildings inspection
  • Budget formulation, monitoring and evaluation



  • The department in conjunction with the Roads department focuses on residential stands allocation within the district.
  • Keeps a record of the stand rentals through created files and database which consist of the arrears and monthly payments made by the stand owners.
  • Tracks down those allocated stands, invoices and reminds stand owners of their arrears.
  • The Housing Section is responsible for the allocation of Residential, Commercial, institutional and Heavy industry stands.
  • The section is also responsible for administration of all housing related issues such as change of ownership
  • Record keeping
  • Processing of title deeds
  • Processing of agreement of sale documents and processing of lease agreement documents for Council leased.
Go To Top